Former Southern Miss Coach Jeff Bower named to CFP Selection Committee

Former Southern Miss Coach Jeff Bower named to CFP Selection Committee

HATTIESBURG, MS (WDAM) - Bill Hancock, Executive Director of the College Football Playoff (CFP), announced in a news release Thursday that former Southern Miss football coach Jeff Bower, along with Lloyd Carr, Herb Deromedi and Rob Mullens have been appointed to the selection committee.

The appointments were made by the CFP Management Committee, according to the release.

Two are in the College Football Hall of Fame, three were highly successful head coaches at the Football Bowl Subdivision level, and another is one of the nation's outstanding athletics directors.

The four new members will replace Mike Gould, Pat Haden, Tom Osborne and Mike Tranghese, charter members of the committee whose terms expired after the 2015-16 season. Each of the new members will begin a three-year term this spring, according to the release.

"We are delighted that Jeff, Lloyd, Herb and Rob are joining the committee," Hancock said in an issued statement. "Throughout the selection process, it was essential that the four new members have an in-depth knowledge and passion for college football. Each of these four fit that description perfectly. They will continue the high integrity of the committee."

Jeff Bower spent 29 years at Southern Miss as a quarterback, assistant coach and head coach.  He led the Golden Eagles to 14 straight winning seasons, and four Conference USA championships – in 1996, 1997, 1999 and 2003 – and six bowl victories. He was a three-time C-USA coach-of-the-year and, in 2004, the conference named him "Coach of the Decade."

Bower earned both his undergraduate degree and M.B.A. from Southern Miss. He was an assistant coach (quarterbacks) at Southern Methodist University (1982-86) and Wake Forest University (1987) and served Oklahoma State University as its offensive coordinator in 1989 before heading back to his alma mater as head coach in 1990.

He was inducted into the Southern Miss Sports Hall of Fame in 1988 and named the 2003 Johnny Vaught All-American Head Coach by the All-American Football Foundation.

The CFP Selection Committee is responsible for selecting the top four teams in the playoff and assigning them to semifinal games as well as placing the next group of teams in the remaining New Year's bowls. The Committee meets in-person beginning midway through the football season and produces a weekly ranking of the top 25 teams leading up to its final selections.