Moak to chair CSG Suggested State Legislation Committee

Published: Jan. 8, 2015 at 7:57 PM CST|Updated: Jan. 8, 2015 at 10:00 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Lexington, KY - This is a news release from the Council of State Governments

Mississippi Rep. Bobby Moak has been named chair of The Council of State Governments' Suggested State Legislation Committee for 2015. North Dakota Rep. Kim Koppelman and Jerry Bassett, director of the Alabama Legislative Reference Service, will serve as the committee vice chairs.

CSG champions excellence in state governments to advance the common good. It was founded in 1933 and is our nation's only organization serving all three branches of state government. State policymakers from throughout the country serve on various CSG public policy committees.

"CSG has long prided itself in attracting the best and the brightest state leaders," said John Mountjoy, CSG's director of policy, research and strategic initiatives. "As a member-driven association of the states, it is the passion, vision and dedication of these leaders that drives our commitment to advancing excellence in state government."

The Suggested State Legislation--or SSL--Committee oversees CSG's SSL program, which highlights innovative legislation from one state that may be beneficial to other states, and particularly in response to trends. Recent issues addressed by SSL drafts include anti-terrorism, biometric technology, financial literacy and self-directed in-home care.

The committee meets three times a year to review about 240 bills, and selects 30 to 40 of them to be included in annual Suggested State Legislation volumes. Membership on this committee generally consists of one legislator from each legislative body in the state--Nebraska has two from its unique unicameral body--and one legislative staff person from each state.

Koppelman is a 2000 CSG Toll Fellow and served as CSG national chair in 2008. Moak is a 1986 CSG Toll Fellow.

Copyright 2015 WDAM. All rights reserved.