Sorority hosts Pillars of our Existence awards

HATTIESBURG, MS (WDAM) - This is a news release from Delta Sigma Theta Sorority

Our local Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Alumnae Chapter is hosting a Pillars of Our Existence Awards ceremony to recognize African American women on June 8.

The women of Delta Sigma Theta sorority are hosting this event to bring awareness to the importance of serving the community.

The ceremony will be held at the C.E. Roy Community Center at the University of Southern Mississippi, 300 East 5th St. and is free to the public.

Following are the women being honored for contributions to their communities: Clementine Benton, Judge Deborah Gambrell-Chambers, Peggy Connor, Ellie Dahmer, Attorney Glenda Funchess, Barbara Gray, Carrie Magee, Floree Smith, Jeanette Smith, Daisy Wade and Mardis Walters.

For more information call Fanneta Battle at (601) 467-4415 or Jammieca Godfrey at (601) 543-9569.