Lamar Co. sheriff wins reelection, according to unofficial results

Unofficial election results from the 2023 Mississippi general election show Lamar County Sheriff Danny Rigel has won reelection
Published: Nov. 8, 2023 at 12:00 AM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

LAMAR COUNTY, Miss. (WDAM) - Lamar County Sheriff Danny Rigel has won reelection during the 2023 Mississippi general election, according to unofficial election results Tuesday night.

Final unofficial numbers show Rigel gained around 52% of the vote while opponent James Murray received around 48%.

Rigel has been the Lamar County sheriff since 2004. This will be his sixth term as sheriff.

Election results also showed incumbent Judge Bill Anderson earned around 72% of the vote for Lamar County Justice Judge for District 1 while opponent Shronda Carter received around 28%.

Tuesday’s results are unofficial until certified.

For more general election races in Lamar County, CLICK HERE.

To see the results for more races in the Pine Belt, including other high-profile races for state positions, click HERE.

Want more WDAM 7 news in your inbox? Click here to subscribe to our newsletter.