Region 8-2A football players receive honors

Region 8-2A football players receive honors
(Source: Gray Media)

Region 8-2A football coaches selected 52 players from the region’s five teams to honor, spread between a player of the year, most valuable offensive and defensive players, a “Super 22” squad comprised of 24 players and 27 All-Region 8-2A players.

  • Coach of the Year: Kevin Jackson; East Marion
  • Player of the Year: Devin Daniels; quarterback; East Marion
  • Most Valuable Player, Offense: Tyrion Sumrall; running back; Perry Central
  • Most Valuable Player, Defense: Cameron Freeman; defensive end; Perry Central

Super 22


  • Offensive line: Tristan Marchioni (St. Patrick); Jaheim Burkett (East Marion); Harold Ezell (Perry Central); Jacquez Long (North Forrest); Quincey Walker (Collins)
  • Running back: Ken’dariun Magee (Collins); Damian Spencer (Collins)
  • Receiver: Jaden Scott (Perry Central); Dedaviyon Magee (Collins)
  • Quarterback: James Bolton (Perry Central)
  • Place kicker: Ty Miller (St. Patrick)
  • Return man/athlete: Kaleb Chatman (St. Patrick)


  • Defensive line: Hunter Lorenzo (St. Patrick); Rashad Travis (North Forrest); Michael Martin (North Forrest); Ethan Hibley (East Marion)
  • Outside linebacker: Patrick Dunn (Perry Central); Jason Thompson (Collins)
  • Middle linebacker: Marteze Mikell (East Marion)
  • Cornerback: Chris Keys (Collins); Eryol Yarbrough (North Forrest)
  • Free safety: Dilon Booth (North Forrest)
  • Strong safety: Ladarrius Watts (East Marion)
  • Punter: Janson Conway (Perry Central)

All-Region 8-2A

East Marion

Elijah Brown; Jaquariuous Jones; Jalean Martin; Jaylin Mooring; Joshua Paige; Christian Patton; and Amere Woodham.

Perry Central

Jeramie Bryant; Dylan Deakle; Wyatt Freeman; Cole Garner; Ja’maureon Gill; and Tyjion Smith.


Najavion Goudy; Quan Jones; Emmanuel Lockhart; Damien McNair; and Lee Zimmerman.

North Forrest

Tyler McLaurin; Braden Myers; Tyrell Pollard; and John Weathersby.

St. Patrick

Christopher Frazier; Charlie Olsen; and Jameson Thriffley.

Copyright 2019 WDAM. All rights reserved.