Cooperative Energy names new president, CEO

Cooperative Energy names new president, CEO
Hattiesburg native Jeff Bowman was announced as Cooperative Energy's new president and future CEO. (Source: WDAM)

HATTIESBURG, Miss. (WDAM) - Cooperative Energy named its new president and CEO Wednesday.

Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer Jeff Bowman was announced as the company’s new president. He will take over the role of CEO in late 2019 following the retirement of current president and CEO, Jim Compton.

Bowman, 47, will become the fourth CEO for the not-for-profit, member-owned generation and transmission cooperative. Cooperative Energy provides electricity to 55 counties throughout western and southern Mississippi.

“Serving as the president and CEO of a large, complex organization like Cooperative Energy is a challenging job,” said Louis Thompson, Cooperative Energy vice chairman and acting board chairman. “Jeff Bowman possesses the leadership, problem-solving, and communication skills necessary to succeed in this role. Cooperative Energy’s excellent management team and strong organizational leadership will provide him with a great foundation upon which to grow.”

Bowman is a Hattiesburg native and graduate of the University of Southern Mississippi, the University of Mississippi School of Law, and a Master of Laws in Taxation from the University of Florida.

“I am humbled and honored with the trust and confidence that the board has placed in me,” said Bowman. “Having worked with and beside Jim Compton for 15 years, his positive impact on our company and the entire electric industry in the state is evident and he leaves big shoes to fill.

“The goal is to continue moving the company forward and providing affordable, reliable and safe energy to our Members in an environmentally-responsible manner. Cooperative Energy will remain Member focused, while working diligently to improve the communities in which we serve and providing our employees a company where they can be proud to work.”

Copyright 2019 WDAM. All rights reserved.