Mississippi expands STEM education in schools

Mississippi expands STEM education in schools
Two Pine Belt school districts were among the schools selected to share the grant. (Source: Pixabay)

HATTIESBURG, MS (WDAM) - The Mississippi Department of Education announced Monday that 15 school districts will establish or enhance programs in science, technology, engineering and math in kindergarten through eighth grade.

The school districts will share more than $896,000 from Mississippi’s K-8 STEM Initiative Enhancement Project Grant. The grants will help schools implement STEM activities, upgrade technology and provide training for educators.

“These grants will help schools increase opportunities for students to explore STEM education in elementary and middle school so they will be better prepared for STEM courses in high school,” said Dr. Nathan Oakley, chief academic officer. “STEM-related professions are growing, and there is an increasing demand for high school and college graduates with expertise in science, technology, engineering and mathematics.”

MDE said the following districts and schools were selected to receive the grant through competitive application process:

  • Lamar County School District - Oak Grove Primary
  • Wayne County School District - Buckatunna School, Clara School, and Wayne Central School
  • Corinth School District - Corinth Elementary School and Corinth Middle School
  • Greene County School District - Leakesville Junior High School, McLain Attendance Center and Sand Hill School
  • Kemper County School District - West Kemper Elementary School
  • Lauderdale County School District - Clarkdale Middle School, Northeast Middle School, Southeast Middle School and West Lauderdale Middle School
  • McComb School District - Summit Elementary School
  • Neshoba County Schools - Neshoba Central Elementary School and Neshoba Central Middle School
  • North Panola School District - Como Primary School and North Panola Middle School
  • Pearl Public School District - Pearl Junior High School
  • Pontotoc City School District - DT Cox Elementary School and Pontotoc Elementary School
  • Rankin County School District - Brandon Middle School
  • Starkville Oktibbeha Consolidated School District - Armstrong Middle School, Henderson Ward Stewart Elementary, Overstreet Elementary School, and Sudduth Elementary School
  • Webster County - East Webster Elementary and Eupora Elementary
  • Winona – Montgomery Consolidated School District - Winona Elementary School and Winona Secondary School

Copyright 2019 WDAM. All rights reserved.