MEMA receives updated damage reports from severe weather

MEMA receives updated damage reports from severe weather
Gov. Phil Bryant being briefed by MEMA on Sunday after severe weather swept through the state. (Photo source: Phil Bryant)

PINE BELT, MS (WDAM) - The Mississippi Emergency Management Agency announced Tuesday that it has received updated damage reports from 22 counties after tornadoes and severe weather that began on Saturday.

The National Weather Service in Jackson, New Orleans and Memphis confirmed a total of 17 tornadoes impacted the state resulting in one storm-related fatality and 18 injuries, according to MEMA. The agency said 230 residences and 17 businesses have been affected statewide.

In the Pine Belt, one injury and nine damaged buildings were reported in Covington County after an EF-1 tornado in Hot Coffee which crossed into Smith County.

Jasper County also had one home reported damaged.

Gov. Phil Bryant declared a state of emergency on Sunday covering all counties affected by the severe weather.

MEMA listed the following initial damage reports by county and said assessments are ongoing:

  • Attala: One home damaged.
  • Choctaw: No damage reported. EF-1 tornado started in the county before crossing into Webster County.
  • Clarke: Assessments ongoing. EF-2 tornado in city of Quitman; EF-1 tornado in southwest portion of county; EF-1 tornado in central portion of county.
  • Clay: Seven homes, 15 businesses, two roads, two bridges and one public building damaged.
  • Covington: Nine buildings damaged and one injury reported. EF-1 tornado in Hot Coffee which crossed into Smith County.
  • Hinds: Assessments ongoing.
  • Holmes: Assessments ongoing.
  • Itawamba: Building assessments ongoing; seven roads and one bridge damaged.
  • Jackson: 16 homes damaged. EF-1 tornado in the town of Escatawpa (initial ruling).
  • Jasper: One home damaged.
  • Kemper: 16 homes damaged, five roads damaged.
  • Leake: Five roads damaged. EF-1 tornado in the town of Thomastown.
  • Madison: Assessments ongoing.
  • Monroe: 131 homes, 14 apartments, two businesses and three public buildings damaged. One fatality and 17 injuries reported. EF-2 tornado in the town of Hamilton; EF-1 tornado in the town of Greenwood Springs (initial ruling).
  • Oktibbeha: Assessments ongoing. EF-2 tornado near the Winston County/Oktibbeha County line; EF-1 tornado in the city of Starkville.
  • Ranking: Assessments ongoing.
  • Simpson: Assessments ongoing.
  • Smith: Two homes damaged. EF-1 tornado which began in Covington County.
  • Walthall: One home damaged. EF-2 tornado that crossed into Pike County.
  • Warren: 121 homes, 17 businesses and 13 public buildings damaged. Three EF-2 tornadoes in the city of Vicksburg; One of the three tornadoes crossed into Yazoo County.
  • Webster: No damage reported at this time. EF-0 tornado, just south of Mantee; EF-1 tornado crossed from Choctaw County into the town of Mathiston.
  • Winston: Assessments ongoing.
  • Yazoo: 24 homes damaged. EF-0 tornado in Dover.

The public is encouraged to report any damage to MEMA.

Copyright 2019 WDAM. All rights reserved.