2008 Cellular South Conerly Trophy Winners

An historic trio of finalists has been selected by media voters for the 2008 Cellular South Conerly Trophy, Mississippi’s most prestigious individual football honor. The trio includes the first offensive lineman and the first Division 3 finalist in the award’s thirteen-year history along with only the third defensive lineman to be named a finalist. The recipient will be announced at the Clarksdale Country Club in Clarksdale, MS Tuesday December 2, 2008.

xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /

Fifty-seven media voters representing radio, television and print outlets throughout Mississippi determine the finalists and the eventual recipient of the Cellular South Conerly Trophy in two rounds of voting. The finalists are listed alphabetically with their most recent statistics:
PERIA JERRY: Ole Miss; Senior DL; Batesville, MS ; four-year letterman; pre-season All-SEC; three-time SEC defensive lineman of the week; leads team in tackles for loss (13; #2 SEC), 4 sacks and tied for fourth in SEC in forced fumbles despite undergoing knee surgery in August; was on Nagurski and Outland Trophy watch lists.
JUAN JOSEPH: Millsaps; Senior QB Edgard, LA; three-time SCAC offensive player of the year; nationally ranked in several NCAA Division III categories including total offense (6th; 320 yards/game) and points per game (9th; 19/game);  averaged more than 24 completions per game while completing 67% of his passes with 31 TD’s; intercepted only 6 times in 403 attempts.
MICHAEL OHER: Ole Miss; Senior OL Memphis, TN; pre-season All-American and All-SEC who is one of three finalists for the Outland Trophy which is awarded annually to the country’s top interior lineman; started 45 consecutive games as keystone of offensive line that is third in the SEC in total offense and rushing offense while allowing  13 sacks through 11 games; two-time SEC offensive lineman of the week.
 For ticket information, contact the Museum at 1-800-280-FAME (3263) or purchase them online at www.msfame.com. All proceeds benefit the private non-profit Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame & Museum.
Other players receiving votes listed alphabetically: DeAndre Brown USM; Austin Davis USM; Trevar Deed DSU; Garrett DeWitt DSU ; Anthony Dixon MSU; Dominic Douglas MSU; Damion Fletcher USM; Greg Hardy OM; Lardester Hicks-Green DSU; Dexter McCluster OM; Gerald McRath USM; Derek Pegues MSU; Chad Schroeder DSU; Jevan Snead OM; Marcellus Speaks JSU; Mike Wallace OM