Residents in Gustav-damaged counties OK'd for aid

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - Residents in three Mississippi counties -

Hancock, Harrison and Washington - have been approved for

individual disaster assistance as a result of damages from

Hurricane Gustav which struck the state on Labor Day.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency said that Governor Haley

Barbour's request for residents in those counties was granted

Friday. They're eligible for the Individuals and Households

program, crisis counseling, transitional sheltering assistance for

those displaced and critical needs assistance. The Small Business

Administration's low-interest loan program also will be available.

Residents have 60 days to apply either by phone, 800-621-3362,

or via FEMA's Web site,

Earlier this week, FEMA declared 20 Mississippi counties

eligible for the Public Assistance program, which allows

governments to be reimbursed for repair of infrastructure and

debris removal and cleanup.

The eligible counties are: Adams, Amite, Claiborne, Copiah,

Forrest, Franklin, George, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson,

Jefferson Davis, Lawrence, Lincoln, Marion, Pearl River, Pike,

Stone, Walthall and Wilkinson.


Information from: The Clarion-Ledger,

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)