Search panel for USM president named

The president of the College Board has announced the selection committee to choose the successor to Shelby Thames at Southern Miss.

Robin Robinson of Laurel will serve as committee chair. Ed Blakeslee, Virginia Shanteau Newton, Bob Owens, and scott ross will serve on the committee.

The executive search firm of Greenwood and Associates will aid the board during the search process.

The search committee, the commissioner, and a member of Greenwood and Associates are tentatively scheduled to meet with various Southern Miss constituency groups during open meetings on November 9 on campus to find out what traits the university community wants in the next president.

Thames will step down next May.