Memorial honoring fallen HPD officers Deen, Tate unveiled

Officers Benjamin Deen and Liquori Tate (Photo source: WDAM)
Officers Benjamin Deen and Liquori Tate (Photo source: WDAM)

HATTIESBURG, MS (WDAM) - May 9, 2015 is a day that will be remembered forever in the city of Hattiesburg. It's the day two police officers, 34-year-old Benjamin Deen and 25-year-old Liquori Tate, were killed in the line of duty.

Gone but never forgotten. That's the theme of the day in Hattiesburg as we remember the loss of Deen and Tate three years later.

A memorial honoring the fallen officers was unveiled Wednesday afternoon. The mood of the ceremony was somber, but it showcased the strength of the people of Hattiesburg and their ability to come together to heal in the wake of a terrible tragedy.

In the years since the shooting that claimed the lives of Deen and Tate, eight suspects have been sentenced for their roles in the crime.

The alleged triggerman, Marvin Banks, died from heart disease in the Forrest County Jail before he went to trial.

Banks' brother, Curtis Banks, pleaded guilty to possession of a controlled substance while in possession of a firearm in March 2018. He was sentenced to serve 10 years in prison.

Abram Wade "Pete" Franklin pleaded guilty to hindering prosecution and possession of a stolen firearm. Franklin was sentenced to serve five years for each count. Those sentences will run concurrently.

Cornelius Clark pleaded guilty to hindering prosecution in September 2017. He was sentenced to five years, with only two to serve on house arrest and the remaining three on post-release supervision.

Douglas McPhail and Anquanette Alexander pleaded guilty in June 2017 to charges of first-degree hindering prosecution and conspiracy. McPhail was sentenced to two years of house arrest followed by three years of probation. Alexander's sentence was five years of probation.

Broderick Kendell Varnado pleaded guilty to accessory after the fact of capital murder and possession of a firearm by a convicted felon on May 22, 2017. Varnado was sentenced to 20 years with 12 to serve.

Joanie Calloway was convicted of attempted accessory after the fact of capital murder and hindering prosecution on May 3, 2017. She was sentenced to 25 years in prison.

Jimmy Brady pleaded guilty to possession of a stolen weapon on June 27, 2016 and was sentenced to five years in prison in addition to another 10 years for a previous charge of aggravated domestic violence.