Mississippi Power awards 2017 Environmental Education Grants

Mississippi Power awards 2017 Environmental Education Grants

HATTIESBURG, MS (WDAM) - Mississippi Power announced the more than 40 teachers from across the company's service territory that will receive 2017 Environmental Education Grants.

According to Mississippi Power, the grants will be used for projects and classroom equipment that will advance the teaching of the skills needed in the environmental field.

Winning teachers will claim a share of the approximately $21,000 available for funding. Mississippi schools and teachers could apply for up to $1,000 for environmental education projects.

"Mississippi Power is proud to assist innovative teachers across south Mississippi," Environmental Affairs Director Mark Loughman said. "Winning projects this year included water quality testing, building a greenhouse and planting a garden of the future. These students will have a unique opportunity to learn about environmental science and the importance of stewardship."

The project proposals were reviewed by Mississippi Power's Environmental Stewardship Council.

"I plan to use recycled pallets to create raised gardens to teach the students how to grow and care for fruits, vegetables and even flowers," said Stacey Posey, an Oak Park Elementary teacher in Laurel that was a grant recipient. "The grant will be used to purchase gardening tools, plants, fertilizer, plastic sheeting, seeds, and several other types of gardening equipment. This is a year-round project that will encourage the students to try new foods and give them an experience that many inner-city students may never have."

"We are excited to receive this grant and begin work on our garden," said grant recipient and Bay Springs Elementary teacher Karen Ishee. "We will begin with some flowers in some bright colored tires and some Fall vegetables in planters. We plan to build benches for the students to sit on and a white picket fence to enclose the area. My first-grade students are so excited!"

Here's a list of Pine Belt grant recipients:

• Ladisha Moore, Hattiesburg (Woodley Elementary)
• Latisha Woodard, Hattiesburg (Hawkins Elementary)
• Nancy Osboren, Hattiesburg (Sacred Heard)
• Brittany Moncrief, Laurel (Oak Park Elementary)
• Cindy Robinson, Laurel (Oak Park Elementary)
• Denise Nix, Laurel (Oak Park Elementary)
• Kristy Olson, Laurel (Oak Park Elementary)
• Natasha McDonald, Laurel (Oak Park Elementary)
• Stacey Posey, Laurel (Oak Park Elementary)
• Thalia Jones, Laurel (Oak Park Elementary)
• Danielle Whittington, Columbia (Columbia Elementary)
• Angie Lawhon, Seminary (Seminary Elementary)
• Patricia Gingrich, Seminary (Seminary Middle)
• Chad Gore, Forrest County (Earl Travillion Attendance Center)
• Brenda Cameron/Kayla Young, Moselle (Moselle Elementary)
• Jaci Housley, Purvis (Purvis Lower Elementary)
• Richard Courtney, Purvis (Purvis High)
• Jamie Sorrell, Sumrall (Sumrall High)