Executive Director of Greater Pine Belt Foundation resigns

Executive Director of Greater Pine Belt Foundation resigns

HATTIESBURG, MS (WDAM) - The Board of Directors of the Greater Pine Belt Community Foundation  announced the resignation of its Executive Director on Monday.

The board said Theresa Erickson will pursue other interests.

"For the past eight years Theresa Erickson worked tirelessly to promote the mission of the Foundation, which is to build stronger communities through philanthropy," The Foundation's president, Terri Bell, said.

The Community Foundation, in partnership with WDAM, raised awareness and over $1.2 million in donations for recovery efforts that directly benefits tornado survivors of Columbia, Hattiesburg, and Petal.

"Theresa was particularly effective in mobilizing community support following natural disasters," Board Member David Fortenberry said. "We are grateful for her leadership."

"Over the past 8 years, the Foundation has come of age," said Bell.  "We now have over 200 funds under management, and the future looks very bright for the Foundation to build on the solid work accomplished in the last several years.  The Community Foundation helps generous people create a lasting legacy to benefit the Pine Belt region for years, and Theresa was a major proponent in advancing this mission."

The Board of Directors has appointed four of its directors, General Buff Blount, Brady Raanes, David Fortenberry, and Terri Bell, to conduct a national search for a new Executive Director.

In the interim, the day to day operations of the Foundation will be overseen by Dr. Steve Ramp, who will serve as Chief Operating Officer assisted by the Board's executive committee, including Paul Laughlin who will oversee Fund Administration, Brady Raanes who will work with Morgan McCarty on Investments, and David Burckel, CPA, who is in charge of financial matters.