Another resignation in Seminary

Another resignation in Seminary
Source: WDAM

SEMINARY, MS (WDAM) - There has been another resignation the town of Seminary.

Dawn Kelly, Seminary mayor pro-tem, said Clerk of Court Mary Alice Wilson has resigned from the position.  Kelly said Wilson said she was not making enough money to make a living.

This comes a week after Police Chief Michael Kelly resigned and two weeks since the former Seminary mayor resigned.

Mayor pro-tem Dawn Kelly released the following statement Friday, March 3rd, regarding the resignation of Michael Kelly.

On March 2, 2017 Micheal Kelly resigned as Chief of Police in Seminary, Ms.  He sited his reasons for resigning as stress and needing more financial security for his family.  He said that he felt it was time for him to step down and allow new leadership to continue what he had started. The town of Seminary thanks him for his service and love for this community.

The Town of Seminary made a post on its Facebook page Saturday, March 4th, following "a concern by residents":

The Seminary Police Department remains fully operational Assistant Chief, Nathan Smith, Officer Robert Aultman will be taking the leadership roles in that department. The Town of Seminary will continue to have the same service coverage as usual.

Mayor Mike Wilcosky resigned February 22.  He was appointed 14 months ago after the town's previous mayor and some other city officials quit.

Kelly said Wilcosky wanted to focus on running his new hardware store, which just opened in town.  Kelly will serve until a new mayor is elected in June.

Kelly told WDAM 7 on Thursday that the town is "stable and not in crisis."

"Just like all municipalities, we have a day to day challenge to make sure taxpayers are getting the most for their money," said Kelly.  "We have had some resignations, but things are going on as normal."

According to a post on the Town of Seminary's Facebook on Monday, March 6th, here is an updated list of the candidates who have qualified for the upcoming election:

Bobbie Jo Harrell
Rick Hux

Freddy Bullock
Gary Cothran
Jan Hernandez
Staci Hux
Billy Karolyi
Dawn Kelly
Ashley Robinson
Steve Sanford

Republican Executive Committee:
Basil Blackwell
David Daniel
Jackie Daniel
Debbie Hux
Mike Moore
Patty Moore

Here are the election dates for the Town of Seminary:

Municipal Primary Elections: May 2, 2017
Runoff Election: May 16, 2017
General Election: June 6, 2017
Regular Special Election: November 7, 2017
Runoff Election: November 28, 2017