Barker, DuPree yet to file paperwork for mayor's race - WDAM-TV 7-News, Weather, Sports-Hattiesburg, MS

Barker, DuPree yet to file paperwork for mayor's race

Hattiesburg City Hall Source: WDAM Hattiesburg City Hall Source: WDAM

Almost a week before the deadline, no one has filed qualifying paperwork to run for Hattiesburg mayor.

Mayor Johnny DuPree announced almost a year ago he would run for re-election in 2017. DuPree, who was first elected in 2001, is seeking a fifth term as the city's mayor.

Mississippi Rep. Toby Barker, R-Hattiesburg, announced he was running for mayor in January. Barker was first elected as a state lawmaker in 2007. 

Several men and women have qualified to run for Hattiesburg City Council.

Five people are vying for an open seat to represent Ward 1. Current Ward 1 Councilman Kim Bradley, who was elected in 2005, announced he wasn't seeking re-election in August. 

Ward 1:

  • David Allen Breland - R
  • Jeffrey George – R
  • Bob Johnson – R
  • Torrance Jermayne Green – D
  •  Kaylee Nicole Bradshaw - D

Three people have filed paperwork to run against incumbent Ward 2 Councilwoman Deborah Denard Delgado.

Ward 2:

  • Deborah Denard Delgado – D
  • Tom S. Ramirez Boldo – D
  • Cedric Dallas – D
  • Adrian “Juan” Ratliff - D

Current Council President Carter Carroll is currently running unopposed for his seat in Ward 3. 

Ward 4:

  • James C. Smith – D
  • Mary Dryden – I

Ward 5 Councilman Henry Naylor has also not filed qualifying paperwork for re-election. Naylor stepped down as council vice president in August. Nicholas R. Brown, who qualified as a Democrat, is the only person currently running in Ward 5.

Candidates must file qualifying paperwork by 5 p.m. on March 3 to run for municipal office. Primary elections are May 2, with primary runoff elections on May 16. The general election is June 6.

Copyright WDAM 2017. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly