LIST: Pine Belt counties still under a burn ban

LIST: Pine Belt counties still under a burn ban

PINE BELT (WDAM) - There are currently 16 counties in the Pine Belt still under a burn ban.

Those counties are:

  • Clarke
  • Covington
  • Forrest
  • George
  • Greene
  • Jasper
  • Jefferson Davis
  • Jones
  • Lamar
  • Marion
  • Smith
  • Simpson
  • Perry
  • Wayne
  • Pearl River
  • Walthall

When a burn ban is in effect, it means no outdoor burning is allowed. Burn ban restrictions include campfires, bonfires, fire pits, fire rings, fireworks, burn barrels, brush piles, debris burning, field burning - anything that produces an ember has the potential to start a wildfire. The wind can carry floating embers away from the original fire and start a spot fire up to one-half mile away from the burning area.

Any person who knowingly and willfully violates a burning ban is guilty of a misdemeanor and may be fined not less than $100 and not more than $500. Fines are enforced by the local Sheriff's Department. Anyone that sets a fire is responsible for that fire and the smoke generated by that fire. If a fire escapes and burns or damages the lands/property of another, the person that set that fire is liable for those damages

Propane/ gas grills, propane/ gas heaters, and charcoal grills are allowed under burn bans. These devices do not produce an ember when they are in use. They should be used as described by their manufacturer's instructions, located safely away from combustible materials, and never left unattended.

For tips for outdoor burning, click here. 

To see if your county is under a burn ban, click here.