Burn ban issued for some Pine Belt counties

Burn ban issued for some Pine Belt counties
Photo Credit: WDAM Archive

PINE BELT (WDAM) - Since Friday, 10 new counties in Mississippi have joined the burn ban list.

Wayne, Simpson and Smith counties have outlawed burning outdoors.

Jones County officials are asking folks to be cautious. They issued a burn advisory Monday.

"Well the advisory is going to stay in effect through at least this week," County Fire Coordinator Dan McKenna-Jones said. "There's no precipitation scheduled by the weather service at this time, other than a slight chance on Friday and Saturday, about 10 percent, so we'll continue that advisory, if conditions deteriorate, we will request from the board of supervisors that they initiate a burn ban."

There is not a mandatory ban in Jones County, but supervisors may request one from the State Forestry Commission.