Six inducted into Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame

Six inducted into Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame

JACKSON, MS (WDAM) - Six people were inducted into the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame on Saturday night at the Jackson Convention Complex.

Jackie Sherrill, Kay James, Sean Brewer, Wesley Walls, Larry Smith and Willie Heidelburg made up the talent-laden Class of 2016.

James coached 22 seasons at Southern Miss and is the all-time winningest coach in Lady Eagle history with 403 victories.

Heidelburg, who died three years ago, played at Pearl River Junior College and Southern Miss. He was the first African-American to play at a Mississippi Division I school.

Sherrill played on two national title teams at Alabama. He coached at Washington State, Pittsburgh, Texas A&M and Mississippi State. He's the only coach to lead MSU into the SEC championship game.

Walls played at Ole Miss and went on to be drafted by the San Francisco 49ers in 1989. He also played with the New Orleans Saints, Carolina Panthers and Green Bay Packers. Walls was induced into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2014.

Smith played 13 NBA seasons and best known for leading Alcorn State to a 1979 NIT win over Mississippi State.

Brewer is the first Millsaps College player ever selected for the College Football Hall of Fame and joins his late father, Ole Miss and NFL football star Johnny Brewer, in the MSHOF.