Six Golden Eagles earn C-USA preseason honors

Six Golden Eagles earn C-USA preseason honors
Bryant Bowen was the hero on this night with his walk-off single, giving the Golden Eagles a 9-8 victory over Louisiana-Lafayette. (Photo source: USM)

HATTIESBURG, MS (WDAM) - The Southern Miss football program made its presence felt Wednesday with six players earning Conference USA preseason honors.

Senior quarterback Nick Mullens highlighted the contingent by being voted conference preseason Offensive Player of the Year by the league's coaches. Mullens is coming off a 2015 season that saw him post multiple school single-season records including 4,476 passing yards and touchdowns with 38.

Mullens was joined on the preseason offensive team by junior running back Ito Smith and senior offensive lineman Cameron Tom.

The trio of senior lineman Dylan Bradley, senior D'Nerius Antoine and junior defensive back Picasso Nelson Jr. were named to the defensive team.

Florida Atlantic senior defensive end Trey Hendrickson was named the preseason Defensive Player of the Year. FAU senior punter Dalton Schomp and Louisiana Tech junior kicker Jonathan Barnes shared the special teams honor.

The Golden Eagles open the regular season September 3 at Kentucky.

2016 Conference USA Football Preseason Honors

Offensive Player of the Year
Nick Mullens, Sr., QB, Southern Miss

Defensive Player of the Year
Trey Hendrickson, Sr., DE, Florida Atlantic

Special Teams Players of the Year
Jonathan Barnes, Jr., K, Louisiana Tech
Dalton Schomp, Sr., P, Florida Atlantic

QB - Brent Stockstill, So., Middle Tennessee
QB - Nick Mullens, Sr., Southern Miss
RB - Kalif Phillips, Sr., Charlotte
RB - Ray Lawry, Jr., Old Dominion
RB - Ito Smith, Jr., Southern Miss
RB - Aaron Jones, Sr., UTEP
RB - Jarveon Williams, Sr., UTSA
RB - Anthony Wales, Sr., WKU
OL - Michael Montero, Sr., FIU
OL - Reggie Bain, Jr., Florida Atlantic
OL - Darrell Brown, Sr., Louisiana Tech
OL - David Mahaffey, Sr., Louisiana Tech
OL - Michael Selby, Sr., Marshall
OL - Clint Van Horn, Sr., Marshall
OL - Maurquice Shakir, Sr., Middle Tennessee
OL - Cameron Tom, Sr., Southern Miss
OL - Forrest Lamp, Sr., WKU
OL - Will Hernandez, Jr., UTEP
TE - Jonnu Smith, Sr., FIU
TE - Ryan Yurachek, Jr., Marshall
WR - Trent Taylor, Sr., Louisiana Tech
WR - Richie James, So., Middle Tennessee
WR - Zach Pascal, Sr., Old Dominion
WR - Taywan Taylor, Sr., WKU

DL - Larry Ogunjobi, Sr., Charlotte
DL - Trey Hendrickson, Sr., Florida Atlantic
DL - Jaylon Ferguson, So., Louisiana Tech
DL - Gary Thompson, Sr., Marshall
DL - Rashaad Coward, Sr., Old Dominion
DL - Dylan Bradley, Sr., Southern Miss
DL - Nick Usher, Sr., UTEP
DL - Marcus Davenport, Jr., UTSA
LB - Anthony Wint, Jr., FIU
LB - Azeez Al-Shaair, So., Florida Atlantic
LB - TJ Ricks, Sr., Old Dominion
LB - Alex Lyons, Sr., Rice
LB - D’Nerius Antoine, Sr., Southern Miss
LB - Alvin Jones, Jr., UTEP
DB - Ocie Rose, So., Florida Atlantic
DB - Jalen Young, So., Florida Atlantic
DB - Xavier Woods, Sr., Louisiana Tech
DB - Jeremy Cutrer, Sr., Middle Tennessee
DB - Kishawn McClain, Jr., North Texas
DB - Justice Davila, Jr., Old Dominion
DB - Picasso Nelson Jr., Jr., Southern Miss
DB - Michael Egwuagu, Sr., UTSA

Special Teams
K - Jonathan Barnes, Jr., Louisiana Tech
P - Dalton Schomp, Sr., Florida Atlantic
KR - Kylen Towner, Jr., WKU
PR - Warren Redix, So., UTEP
LS - Darrell Travis, Sr., Louisiana Tech