Lewis, Robinson selected for Undergraduate Leadership Institute's Eta Class

Lewis, Robinson selected for Undergraduate Leadership Institute's Eta Class

HATTIESBURG, MS (WDAM) - The following is a news release from The University of Southern Mississippi.

Two members of the Kappa Iota chapter of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc. at The University of Southern Mississippi were selected to attend the organization's Undergraduate Leadership Institute in Atlanta. Senior Katrell Lewis and alumnus Perry Robinson were two of 65 members selected to be a part of the institute's Eta Class.

According to the organization's website, the Undergraduate Leadership Institute is a highly structured and intense leadership experience designed to increase undergraduates' capacity to lead in multiple contexts - in the fraternity, on campus and/or in their communities. Representatives from all 12 provinces of the fraternity are selected for the biennial program.

Lewis is a senior exercise science major and is set to graduate in December 2016. He was initiated into the Kappa Iota chapter in spring 2014 and serves as the Vice Polemarch. Lewis is a Luckyday Scholar and has taken on several leadership roles on campus, including the Student Government Association Cabinet, Southern Miss Activities Council, African American Student Organization and Men of Excellence. In addition, he was elected onto the 2015 Homecoming Court as Mr. USM.

Robinson is a May 2016 graduate with a bachelor's degree in broadcast journalism. A spring 2014 initiate, he served as Polemarch of the Kappa Iota chapter. He was recently appointed as the Junior Vice Polemarch of the Southwestern Province, the largest province in the fraternity. In addition, he was also involved in several organizations on campus, including the Southern Miss Activities Council and the Student Government Association Judicial Board.

Lewis and Robinson are the second consecutive pair from Kappa Iota to be selected for the Undergraduate Leadership Institute. Alumni Wilton Jackson and Trent Johnson, both fall 2012 initiates of Kappa Iota, were selected as members of the 2014 Zeta Class.