Government officials join the 2016 Scholastic Summer Reading Challenge

Government officials join the 2016 Scholastic Summer Reading Challenge

NEW YORK, NY - This is a news release from Scholastic Inc.

Government officials across America are making a commitment to getting kids reading this summer. 39 Governors' Spouses representing the U.S. and U.S. territories, along with 3 Governors and 1 Lieutenant Governor have signed on as "Reading Ambassadors" for the 2016 Scholastic Summer Reading Challenge to help support literacy in their states and encourage children and families to read throughout the summer months. To show their commitment, many Reading Ambassadors will discuss the importance of summer reading through reading events held at local schools and each Ambassador will deliver 500 new books donated by Scholastic on their behalf to schools in need.

Now in its 10th year, the Scholastic Summer Reading Challenge is a free global reading program aimed at keeping kids reading all summer long. Schools and families can enroll children for free, and throughout the summer as kids read books, they can log their reading minutes, unlock stories from some of their favorite authors, earn digital rewards and learn about great new books to read. This year's theme, "Be A Reading Superhero," encourages kids to be the best independent readers they can be and achieve a "summer leap" — a gain in reading skills that will help students prepare to tackle the upcoming school year. At the end of the summer, the school in each state with the most reading minutes recorded by September 9 will be named "Best in State" and will be featured in the 2017 Scholastic Book of World Records.

Teachers, schools and families can register their children in grades K–8 and access free summer reading resources at

Scholastic gratefully acknowledges the following Governors, Governors' Spouses and Lieutenant Governors, who are serving as Reading Ambassadors for the 2016 Scholastic Summer Reading Challenge:

Alabama – Governor Robert Bentley
    Alaska – First Lady Donna Walker
    American Samoa – First Lady Cynthia Malala Moliga
    Arizona – First Lady Angela Ducey
    Arkansas – First Lady Susan Hutchinson
    Connecticut – First Lady Cathy Malloy
    Georgia – First Lady Sandra Deal
    Hawaii – First Lady Dawn Amano-Ige
    Idaho – First Lady Lori Otter
    Illinois – First Lady Diana Rauner
    Iowa – First Lady Christine Branstad
    Kansas – First Lady Mary Brownback
    Kentucky – First Lady Glenna Bevin
    Maine – First Lady Ann LePage
    Maryland – First Lady Yumi Hogan
    Massachusetts – First Lady Lauren Baker
    Michigan – First Lady Sue Snyder
    Minnesota – Governor Mark Dayton
    Mississippi – First Lady Deborah Bryant
    Missouri – First Lady Georganne Nixon
    Montana – First Lady Lisa Bullock
    Nevada – First Lady Kathleen Sandoval
    New Hampshire – First Gentleman Thomas Hassan
    New Jersey – First Lady Mary Pat Christie
    New Mexico – First Gentleman Chuck Franco
    New York – Lt. Governor Kathy Hochul
    North Carolina – First Lady Ann McCrory
    North Dakota – First Lady Betsy Dalrymple
    Ohio – First Lady Karen Kasich
    Oklahoma – First Gentleman Wade Christensen
    Oregon – First Gentleman Dan Little
    Pennsylvania – First Lady Frances Wolf
    Rhode Island – First Gentleman Andy Moffit
    South Dakota – First Lady Linda Daugaard
    Tennessee – First Lady Crissy Haslam
    Texas – First Lady Cecilia Abbott
    U.S. Virgin Islands – Governor Kenneth Mapp
    Utah – First Lady Jeanette Herbert
    Virginia – First Lady Dorothy McAuliffe
    Washington – First Lady Trudi Inslee
    West Virginia – First Lady Joanne Tomblin
    Wisconsin – First Lady Tonette Walker
    Wyoming – First Lady Carol Mead