Fallen HPD officers Deen and Tate named Officers of the Year

Fallen HPD officers Deen and Tate named Officers of the Year
The families of Deen and Tate accept their Officer of The Year awards. Source: WDAM
Fallen officers Liquori Tate and Benjamin Deen. Source: HPD
Fallen officers Liquori Tate and Benjamin Deen. Source: HPD

HATTIESBURG, MS (WDAM) - A pair of fallen Hattiesburg Police Officers have been named the 2015 Officers of the Year.

Officers Benjamin Deen and Liquori Tate, who were shot and killed on May 9, 2015 were honored Friday during the department annual awards and appreciation day at the Hattiesburg Police and Fire Academy.

Family members of Deen and Tate gathered on the stage with department administrators to accept the awards.

MOBILE USERS: Click here for photos from the news coverage of our fallen officers. 

"I wish he could be here,"  said Robin Deen, wife of Officer Benjamin Deen. "I wish he could be here to accept it, but I am so honored to accept it for him."

"It means the world to me, if I could trade this award for my son back I would," said Yolander Ross, Officer Liquori Tate's mother.

RELATED: Remembering Our Fallen Officers

Other officers and personnel in the department were recognized for their years of service as well as awards for yearly achievements.

"We are doing so much with a lot less right now, it's all because of you (the officers)," said Hattiesburg Police Chief Anthony Parker. "This department has come together in light of an awful tragedy, we have come together, and we used a day like today to honor our fallen officers and their families."

Here is a list of the awards from Friday's ceremony:

  • Most Citations- Ray Walley
  • Most DUI Arrests- Jason Jarvis
  • Most Felony Arrests- Jeremy Dunaway
  • Most misdemeanor arrests- Lashaunda Buckhalter
  • Most marijuana seized- Jamison Crabtree
  • Most cocaine seized- Eric Mitcham
  • Most meth seized- Jason Jarvis
  • Most heroin seized- Jakki Varnado
  • Most spice seized- Robert McGhee
  • Most cases solved- Jeremy Dunaway
  • Most recovered stolen vehicles- Kelly Gardner
  • Most money seized- Robert McGhee
  • Best work attendance (sworn officer)- Eric Herrin
  • Best work attendance (non-sworn)- Dorothy Parks
  • Service Award- Huglon McLaurin
  • Civilian Employee of the year- Dorothea Van Buren