ICYMI: Pine Belt Election results

ICYMI: Pine Belt Election results

PINE BELT - MOBILE USERS: If you cannot see results on mobile CLICK HERE or download our WDAM News App for Apple or Android device.

Several incumbents kept their positions such as Phil Bryant, Stacey Pickering and Jim Hood.

Other races in the Pine Belt were down to the wire, most notably the Forrest County Sheriff's race. The race came down to 720 absentee ballots. Ultimately, Billy McGee kept his position and is going into his seventh term as sheriff.

Another race that had voters on the edge of their seats was Initiative 42. Ultimately, the state voted to not amend the constitution, making the options of 42 or 42 A moot. The most interesting part of this race was that over 280,000 Mississippi voters voted against changing the amendment, but over 400,000 voted for either option.

There was also a Pine Belt upset when Perry County Sheriff Jimmy Dale Smith was ousted from his position by Mitch Nobles. 

Another race to watch was the new judge seat in Forrest County. Jon Mark Weathers won this seat, which was in the making for 12 years.

For more election stories, click here.