Four Jones County races head for runoff

Four Jones County races head for runoff

JONES COUNTY, MS (WDAM) - In three weeks many Jones County Republican voters will have to head back to the polls to vote for their next constable and supervisor.

Tuesday's primary election final but unofficial results show that Supervisor Beat 3, Supervisor Beat 4, Constable District 1 and Constable District 3 races will all head for a runoff election August 25.

In the Supervisor Beat 3 race, out of 9 candidates,  incumbent Barry Saul lead with 1435 votes. Though his 38.08 percent of the votes was not enough to win the race. He will be running against Phil Dickerson, who received 766 votes on Tuesday.

Beat 4 and Board of Supervisors President, Andy Dial, will also be heading for what is likely to be a tough primary runoff election battle. One of his three opponents, David Scrugss, was the leading vote-getter with 1355 votes. Dial received 103 votes less than Scrugss, he had 1252 votes.

The race is also not over for Constable District 1. Republican candidate Mike Sumrall was a little more than 7 percent shy of being elected to the District 1 Constable Office. Sumrall received 1866 votes, Chris Prince received 732. Since neither achieved more than 50 percent of the votes, a runoff will determine who takes the office.

The August 25 runoff will also decide who will take the District 3 Constable Office. David Livingston received the most votes Tuesday with 1684. Terry Graham came behind with 1037 votes. The eight Republican candidate race has now been narrowed down to Livingston and Graham.

Results in this story are unofficial. Numbers include absentee votes and most affidavit ballots. Jones County Circuit Clerk Bart Gavin, who won the Chancery Clerk race on Tuesday, said there are still a few affidavit ballots left that will be counted Wednesday.

Copyright 2015 WDAM. All rights reserved.