SBA deadline to apply for economic injury disaster loans in Mississippi is June 24

SBA deadline to apply for economic injury disaster loans in Mississippi is June 24

ATLANTA, GA (WDAM) - This is a news release from SBA

The U.S. Small Business Administration is reminding small businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small aquaculture businesses and most private nonprofit organizations in Mississippi of the deadline to submit disaster loan applications for economic injury caused by severe storms and flooding on September 11, 2014.  The deadline to apply for a working capital disaster loan is June 24, 2015.

"Businesses that suffered economic losses as a result of the disaster and want to apply for low-interest loans from the SBA are urged to do so before the June 24 deadline," said Frank Skaggs, director of SBA Field Operations Center East.

Low-interest disaster loans are available in the counties of DeSoto, Marshall, Tate, and Tunica in Mississippi; Crittenden in Arkansas; and Shelby in Tennessee.

Working capital disaster loans up to $2 million are available at 4 percent for small businesses, and 2.625 percent for private nonprofit organizations with terms up to 30 years. The loans are intended to pay fixed debts, payroll, accounts payable, and other expenses that could have been paid had the disaster not occurred.  To be considered for this assistance, eligible entities need to apply by the deadline.

Applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via SBA's secure website at


Applications and program information are available by calling the SBA's Customer Service Center at 1-800-659-2955 (1-800-877-8339 for the deaf and hard-of-hearing), or by sending an email to

. Loan applications can also be downloaded from the SBA's website at

. Completed applications should be mailed to:

U.S. Small Business Administration, Processing and Disbursement Center, 14925 Kingsport Road, Fort Worth, TX 76155.

The deadline to return economic injury applications is June 24, 2015.

Copyright WDAM 2015. All rights reserved.