PineBelt Foundation awards over $44,000 in scholarships

PineBelt Foundation awards over $44,000 in scholarships

MISSISSIPPI (WDAM) - This is a news release from The Greater PineBelt Foundation

Thanks to the generosity of donors in the Pine Belt region, The Greater PineBelt Community Foundation has awarded over $44,000 in scholarships to 48 outstanding students.

Scholarship Funds managed at the PineBelt Community Foundation are set up by generous donors who set the criteria for the scholarship. The criteria may include a particular high school, a specific region, a specific field of study, financial need, academic achievement, leadership abilities, etc.

"Since 1997 the PineBelt Community Foundation has been a leading resource for scholarship funding in the Pine Belt area," said Theresa Erickson, Executive Director. "Some donors want to support students aspiring to careers similar to the ones they had. Other donors create scholarships to "pay back" the community that has given generously to them. Still others start memorial funds to honor the legacies of their loved ones. Regardless of the reason for starting their scholarship fund, these thoughtful donors have shown their commitment to creating a better future for the Pine Belt area by financially assisting students who are pursuing a post-secondary education."

This year scholarship recipients represent many different colleges and universities across the United States. 2015 Scholarships Include:

Baxter I. White Jr. Scholarship – Santana Holloway, Mississippi State University- $200 and Riley Davis, Mississippi State University ­– $200.

Darrell Burnham Memorial Scholarship – Lucia Lang, Mississippi State University - $1,500.

Edgar Dr. Johnson Memorial Scholarship – Jeremy Wise, University of Mississippi Medical Center- $1,348.13.

Edward J. "Ed" Langton Scholarship – Leia Swilley, Jones County Junior College ­– $1,000.

Edwin Cole, MD and William Moak, MD Scholarship- Kane Edwards, University of Mississippi Medical Center – $718.

Elaine Moser Scholarship - Anna Claire Mercer- $500.

Eloise Hopson Scholarship - Jarrius Adams, University of Mississippi -$1,183.31 and Mariah Evans, University of Southern Mississippi - $1,183.30.

John Watts Memorial Scholarship - Megan Fairly, University of Southern Mississippi - $250.

Kappa Alpha Psi Scholarship – David Robinson, University of Mississippi $450.

LD Ready Scholarship – Michael Scott - $300.

Omi Ruth Boston Twyner Scholarship – Latashanna Ransom, Hinds Community College – $1,000.

O'Neal Farish Educational Scholarship-Alexandria Baird, University of Mississippi $2,000 and Emilie Davis, Millsaps College - $1,000 and Elise Davis, Millsaps College - $1,000.

Ralph H. Stallcup Scholarship – Adam Rigney, Jones County Junior College - $425.44 and Penny Aultman, Jones County Junior College - $425.

Merchants Company Scholarship ($1,000 each student):

Hunter Savage, Vanderbilt University Catherine E. Mercier, University of Southern Mississippi Brady Wade, Auburn University Jessica Parker, Texas A. & M. International University, Kiara Sims, University of Southern Mississippi Perry A. Townsend, University of Mississippi Taylor Lauren Gore, Troy University Ronald Cockrell, Christian Life School of Theology Hannah Nicole Plummer, University of North Florida Kennedy Keith Moore, Undecided Taylor Bosarge, University of Mississippi Jaura Franluciosa Toney, Jones County Junior College Dalton Wayne Berry, Jones County Junior College Michael Seaton, SW Assembly of God University Bradley Hunter Evans, Faulkner University Mark Alexander Buchanan, University of Southern Mississippi Joshua Stephen Kemp, Jones County Junior College Dantwan Smith, Ross University School of Medicine Katy Louise Surrett, University of Alabama Birgmingham Daniel Ray, Mississippi College Garrett Carter, Undecided

Mississippi Tank Scholarship ($1,000 each student):

Cody Lee Holland, University of Southern Mississippi Tara Rachelle Massengale, Jones County Junior College Brandon Michael McCullough, Vincennes University Kelly Odom, University of Southern Mississippi Hailey Elizabeth Powell, University of Southern Mississippi Nicholas Westfall, Vincennes University Melanie Kristen Soldine, University of Southern Mississippi Anna Kathryn Sanford, Pearl River Community College Taylor Lynne Wallace, Ivy Tech Community College

The PineBelt Community Foundation would like to congratulate all of our scholarship recipients.