IMAGE student organization honors students, faculty and community members

IMAGE student organization honors students, faculty and community members

HATTIESBURG, MS (WDAM) -  This a news release from The University of Southern Mississippi. 

The University of Southern Mississippi honored the outstanding achievements of students, faculty, staff and graduating seniors at their 2014-2015 Increasing Minority Access to Graduate Education (IMAGE) awards banquet.

IMAGE, a program sponsored by the Southern Miss College of Science and Technology, works to broaden participation of underrepresented students majoring in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) on campus. IMAGE provides resources and support needed for student recruitment, retention and graduation to encourage a diverse STEM workforce.

A number of awards are named for the Louis Stokes Mississippi Alliance for Minority Participation (LSMAMP). The LSMAMP program is one of the National Science Foundation's flagship initiatives for helping the nation meet its science, technology, engineering and mathematics workforce needs for the 21st century. The program is a multidisciplinary, comprehensive, undergraduate program intended to increase the quantity and quality of underrepresented minority students completing baccalaureate degrees and pursuing graduate degrees in the STEM disciplines.

The LSMAMP consortium is comprised of Jackson State University, the University of Mississippi, Mississippi State University, Mississippi Valley State University, Alcorn State University, Tougaloo College, Hinds Community College and Southern Miss.

Students in the LSMAMP program take part in academic training sessions, research activities with STEM faculty, regional and national research conferences, and community service activities. Select students, as LSMAMP Scholars, receive financial support for their LSMAMP activities.

LSMAMP 2014-2015 Rising Star Award

Kenjarvis Seals

LSMAMP 2014-2015 Member of the Year

Vaniecia Wilson

LSMAMP 2014-2015 Emerging Leader Award

Curtis Drake

Mikia Rich

Kristen Dupard

LSMAMP 2014-2015 Outstanding Freshman

Tevin Tillman

LSMAMP 2014-2015 Outstanding Sophomore

Nya Williams

LSMAMP 2014-2015 Outstanding Junior

Aaliyah Cole

LSMAMP 2014-2015 Outstanding Senior

Danviona King

LSMAMP 2014-2015 International Study Achievement Award

Danviona King

Kristen Dupard

Alexis Sanders

Graduating Senior Awards

Brandon Andrews

Hannah Brown

Tiera Corey

Cynthia Jordan

Curtis Drake

Vincent Green

LSMAMP 2014-2015 Faculty Member of the Year

Dr. Glenmore Shearer

LSMAMP Appreciation Award

Dr. Mary Moore

Tara McCrink-Burcham

For more information about the IMAGE and the LSMAMP program, visit