James McMahon on Top 25 List for National Pitcher of the Year Award

James McMahon on Top 25 List for National Pitcher of the Year Award

This is a news release from Southern Miss athletics

HATTIESBURG, Miss. – Southern Miss senior right-handed pitcher James McMahon (Hattiesburg, Miss.) continues to be on the watch list for the National College Baseball Hall of Fame's Pitcher of the Year Award, which has been narrowed to 25 players from across the country.

The Pitcher of the Year Award, sponsored by Diamond, will be presented on June 29 in Lubbock as part of the annual Night of Champions.

McMahon improved to 11-1 on the season in an 8-4 victory in the Golden Eagles' regular-season finale Friday night at Middle Tennessee. The squad tied a school-record by winning its 13-straight contest.

For McMahon, who is the only pitcher in Conference USA to make the list, he is now is tied for second place on the single-season school charts in victories and will help lead Southern Miss in next week's Conference USA Baseball Championships, presented by Petro Nissan, beginning Wednesday at Pete Taylor Park on the Golden Eagle campus.

McMahon is also one of five finalists for the C Spire Ferriss Trophy. Professional scouts and college coaches chose the five finalists and also will vote again this week from among the five. The coaches/scouts voting will comprise 90 percent of the final vote. Fan voting, conducted by C Spire, will account for the other 10 percent of the voting. Fan voting will begin at 9 a.m. Tuesday and conclude at Sunday at noon. Voting will be done at www.csopavoting.com.

The C Spire Ferriss Trophy will be presented at a luncheon on Monday, May 18, at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum. Call (601) 982-8264 for tickets or purchase online at msfame.com.

For more information on the Pitcher of the Year Award of the College Baseball Hall of Fame's Night of Champions, visit www.collegebaseballhall.org.



Brendan McKay Louisville ACC

Tommy Peterson South Florida American Athletic

Carson Cross UConn American Athletic

Eddie Muhl George Washington Atlantic 10

Kevin Duchene Illinois Big Ten

Tyler Jay Illinois Big Ten

Mike Shawaryn Maryland Big Ten

Josh Roeder Nebraska Big Ten

Michael Freeman Oklahoma State Big 12

Riley Ferrell TCU Big 12

Preston Morrison TCU Big 12

Alex Young TCU Big 12

Corey Taylor Texas Tech Big 12

Taylor Clarke College of Charleston Colonial

James McMahon Southern Mississippi Conference USA

Adam Whitt Nevada Mountain West

Ryan Burr Arizona State Pac-12

David Berg UCLA Pac-12

Luke Gillingham Navy Patriot

Alex Lange LSU SEC

Grayson Long Texas A&M SEC

Carson Fulmer Vanderbilt SEC

Stuart Holmes Nicholls State Southland

Justin Sinibaldi Nicholls State Southland

Joseph Camacho Alabama State SWAC