MDOT employee wins 2014 AASHTO President’s Award

MDOT employee wins 2014 AASHTO President’s Award

JACKSON, MS (WDAM) - This is a news release from MDOT

Over the past 35 years, Charles Carr of the Mississippi Department of Transportation (MDOT) has dedicated himself to consistently providing first-class leadership through various roles in the transportation industry.


character as a proven leader as well as his list of merits solidified him as the 2014 recipient of the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) President's Transportation award for Intermodal Transportation.

During his time as director of Public Transit with MDOT, Carr was given the difficult task of introducing transportation alternatives to a relatively rural Mississippi. Through his initiative, he established the ground work that eventually led to the growth of public transportation options in several areas of the state where these service were non-existent or needed improvement. Communities across the state including the Mississippi Delta, the Natchez area and the Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians have all benefited from the new transit facilities constructed as a result of his efforts.
Carr has continue his pursuits to improve the interconnectivity of all modes of transportation in his role as director of Intermodal Planning. His commitment in advancing projects and programs that enhance the economic development and access to many of the state's airports, ports and waterways has resulted in several improvements to facilities around the state.
In pursuit of expanding knowledge of transportation options, Carr has traveled throughout the United States and abroad as a participant in the ENO International Transit Study Program. He has earned a place on several boards and committees. He also received the “Dr. Aaron E. Hendry Achievement Award” for his outstanding commitment and support of improving community transportation; the AASHTO Multi-State Technical Assistance Program Special Recognition award for this leadership in the transit industry and he also plays a critical role in keeping AASHTO connected to the Community Transportation Association of America.
The AASHTO President's Transportation Awards recognize individuals or teams, who have performed exemplary service that benefit transportation regionally or nationally. Recipients are selected by the president of AASHTO and the four regional associates of state highway and transportation officials.