River women, men MACJC-Region 23 soccer champions

River women, men MACJC-Region 23 soccer champions

ELLISVILLE, MS (WDAM) - The following is a press release from Pearl River Community College:

Pearl River's Wildcat and Lady Wildcat soccer squads are the 2014 MACJC-Region 23 champions after defeating Mississippi Gulf Coast and Hinds, respectively, here Sunday in the women's and men's title bouts played at Jones Junior College.

The two teams duplicated the twin champ feat during the 2012 season, while the Wildcat squad have claimed the men's title for three straight years.

PRCC's women improved to 12-4-1 overall, while its men are now 11-4-1. Hinds' women dropped to 12-5-2, while Gulf Coast's men fell to 15-5-1.

The Lady Wildcats dropped 12th-ranked and then-undefeated Jones County in Saturday's double-overtime semi-final game in a shootout scenario, while Hinds blanked Northwest Mississippi 2-0.

In the Wildcats' semi-final game with Jones County, Pearl River won 1-0 off a header by Chance Bourdene of Northeast Lauderdale High with just 36.5 seconds left in the first half. MGCCC's men shutout Hinds in their semi-final bout.

In the women's game, Hinds' Haley Claiborne put the Lady Eagles up 1-0 off a goal 1:14 into the contest, but Pearl River rebounded to tie it up two minutes later off an unassisted goal by Kim Armstrong, an Ole Miss transfer who prepped at Pascagoula High.

In the 35th minute, Sarah Daniels of Madison Central High gave The River the lead for good off a header from a corner kick by Haley Furlan of Bay High, while Delaney Gustafson of Ocean Springs High scored the game's final goal with 55 seconds left before the intermission.

Pearl River's men led 1-0 at the half off a free kick three minutes before the break by Eli Troutman of Ocean Springs High, but Gulf Coast's Stewart Mena tied it up with 11:24 left in regulation and that stalemate remained intact as regulation ended.

After two scoreless overtime periods, things moved to a shoot out with PRCC's Gerrad McClaurin of Ocean Springs High banging in the game-winning kick.

Jack Byrd coaches the women's team, while Paul Martin coaches the men.