PRCC men's, women's soccer programs capture MACJC/Region 23 titles

PRCC men's, women's soccer programs capture MACJC/Region 23 titles

This is a news release from PRCC athletics

ELLISVILLE --- Pearl River's Wildcat and Lady Wildcat soccer squads are the 2014 MACJC-Region 23 champions after defeating Mississippi Gulf Coast and Hinds, respectively, here Sunday in the women's and men's title bouts played at Jones Junior College.

The two teams duplicated the twin champ feat during the 2012 season, while the Wildcat squad have claimed the men's title for three straight years.

PRCC's women improved to 12-4-1 overall, while its men are now 11-4-1. Hinds' women dropped to 12-5-2, while Gulf Coast's men fell to 15-5-1.

In the women's game, Hinds' Haley Claiborne put the Lady Eagles up 1-0 off a goal 1:14 into the contest, but Pearl River rebounded to tie it up two minutes later off an unassisted goal by Kim Armstrong, an Ole Miss transfer who prepped at Pascagoula High.

In the 35th minute, Sarah Daniels of Madison Central High gave The River the lead for good off a header from a corner kick by Haley Furlan of Bay High, while Delaney Gustafson of Ocean Springs High scored the game's final goal with 55 seconds left before the intermission.

Pearl River's men led 1-0 at the half off a free kick three minutes before the break by Eli Troutman of Ocean Springs High, but Gulf Coast's Stewart Mena tied it up with 11:24 left in regulation and that stalemate remained intact as regulation ended.

After two scoreless overtime periods, PRCC's Gerrad McClaurin of Ocean Springs High banged in the game-winning penalty kick.

--- 30 ---

MACJC-Region 23 Tournament

Women's & Men's Championship Games

Nov. 2, 2014 @ Jones Junior College in Ellisville, MS


Pearl River 3, Hinds 1

Halftime: 3-1 (PRCC)


Pearl River (12-4-1): Kim Armstong 1, Sarah Daniels 1, Delaney Gustafson 1. Assist: Hailey Furlan 1.

Hinds (12-5-2): Haley Claiborne 1.


Pearl River 2, Miss. Gulf Coast 1 (2-OT, Shoot Out)

Halftime: 1-0 (PRCC)


Pearl River (11-4-1): Elijah Troutman 1.

Miss. Gulf Coast (15-5-1): Stewart Mena 1.


Pearl River: Chance Bourdene 1, Gerrad McClaurin 1, Jake Polderman 1.

Miss. Gulf Coast: Nicholas Bracey 1.

NOTE: Pearl River's men ‘three-peat' as MACJC-Region 23 champions, while its women last won the state-regional title in 2012, but were runners-up in 2013