Favre among 6 elected to state's Hall of Fame

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - Retired NFL quarterback Brett Favre is among a six-person class that has been elected to the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame.
The class, announced on Thursday, also includes Clarence Weatherspoon, Fred McAfee, Gwen White, Mike Dennis and Steve Knight.
The 45-year-old Favre was a three-time NFL Most Valuable Player after growing up in Kiln, Mississippi, and playing in college at Southern Mississippi.
Weatherspoon played college basketball at Southern Miss before a 13-year NBA career. McAfee was a running back at Mississippi College before a 16-year NFL career.
White was a longtime successful coach and women's sports pioneer in Mississippi. Dennis was an all-SEC tailback for Ole Miss and also played in the NFL.
Knight, who is still coaching, has won 590 basketball games at William Carey.

(Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)