HPD hosts annual employee appreciation awards

HATTIESBURG, MS (WDAM) - TheHattiesburg Police Department held their annual employee appreciation andawards day at the Police and Fire Academy.  Awards were given out toofficers and civilians throughout the department for various achievements.

"This is anopportunity for us to say thank you to the officers, and the non-sworn peoplewho work for the City of Hattiesburg," said Hattiesburg Mayor Johnny DuPree."They are out protecting us throughout the year and this gives us anopportunity to stand back and reflect on the great job they have done," saidDuPree.

The departmenthonored Lt. Branden McLemore with "Officer of the Year" and Crime Scene InvestigatorJeff Byrd with "Civilian Employee of the Year."

Other awardsincluded:

MostCitations-Ray Walley with 2,835

Most DUI's-Brandon Badon with 237

Most FelonyArrests- Jeremy Dunaway with 40

MostMisdemeanor Arrests- Jeremy Dunaway with 171

Most MarijuanaSeized- Jeremy Dunaway with 876 grams

Most CocaineSeized- Justin Mclaurin with 1,261 grams

MostMethamphetamine Seized- Lashaunda Buckhalter with 106 grams

Most CasesSolved – Steven Hartley with 96 cases

Most MoneySeized- Zachary Denny with $3,980.00

Most WeaponsSeized- Jonathan Dillard with 6

Best WorkAttendance by sworn officer- Benjamin Deen