Dale Purvis takes over as chair of PRCC Board of Trustees

POPLARVILLE, MS (WDAM) - This is a news release from PRCC

POPLARVILLE – Pearl River Community College's Board of Trustees has elected new officers for the next two years.

Dale Purvis of Oak Grove, a Lamar County representative on the 16-member governing board since 2007, takes over as chairman. Purvis is president of COMSOUTH, Inc. and a graduate of PRCC.

He replaces Frank Ladner of Bay St. Louis, a Hancock County representative on the board since 1992.

PRCC President William Lewis thanked Ladner his many years of service on the board and for providing "superior leadership the last two years as chairman. He has represented the college well."

Purvis, a Picayune native, graduated from Picayune High School in 1978. He received an Associate in Applied Science degree from PRCC in 1984. He graduated from Mississippi State University with a B.S. in Engineering in 1986 and received a Master's in Business Administration in 1987.

"I met a lot of friends from other cities when I was at Pearl River, lifelong friends," said Purvis. "I have two brothers and a sister who attended PRCC. My grandmother attended school there in 1929. It was like a family atmosphere. I was heavily involved in intramurals during my time there."

Purvis has been with COMSOUTH, Inc. since 1998. COMSOUTH is a Motorola Wireless Communications Solutions Provider that has served South Mississippi for more than 50 years.

His wife, Tammy, also graduated from PRCC in 1984. They have two children, Kayla, 22, and Karlyn, 16.

The board also elected Brian Freeman of Hattiesburg, a member of the board since 2012 and Forrest County's Superintendent of Education, vice chairman. M.L. "Sonny" Knight is the board secretary. He has been a member of the board since 1995.

In other board news, Dr. Lewis recognized Herbert Ray Nobles of Petal for his 20 years of service on the board of trustees.

The April monthly meeting of the board of trustees will be held at the Hancock Center in Waveland.

Graduation ceremonies will be held on May 14 at the Lynn Cartlidge Multi-Purpose Center in Hattiesburg.