JCJC college newspaper wins 28 awards - WDAM-TV 7-News, Weather, Sports-Hattiesburg, MS

JCJC college newspaper wins 28 awards

The following is a news release from Jones County Junior College:

Jones County Junior College's student newspaper, the Radionian, won 28 awards March 28 at the O.C. McDavid/Mississippi Press Association Education Foundation's Better Newspaper Contest. Out of 16 entry categories, the Jones newspaper won 10 first place awards as well as General Excellence (top community college newspaper in the state).

Awards included General News Story: Nikki Smith, first place; and Tiffany Odom, honorable mention; Sports News Story: Zac Chamblee, second place; Brad Crowe, third place; and Josh Beasley, honorable mention; Sports Column: Zac Chamblee, third place; Sports Feature: Josh Beasley, first place; and Zac Chamblee, honorable mention.

In the Feature Story category, Amanda DeCosta won first place and Michael Dean won second place. In the Cartoon category, Nicole Ainsworth won third place.  In Editorials, Erin Howell and Seth Houston won first place.  In Investigative Package, Nikki Smith and Ryan Phillips received first place; the Radionian received third place for a package of stories on the presidential election; and Kristian  Griffith-Bansbach, Cheryl Stringer and Katherine Parker received honorable mention for a package of stories on the mock election.

In photos: General News Photo: Sam Bass won first place and third place; Ryan Phillips won second place and Erica English received an honorable mention; Sports Photo: Zac Chamblee won third place and Ryan Phillips won honorable mention.

The Radionian received first place in the following categories: Design, Front page, Graphic, and Miscellaneous ad. In addition, the Radionian's weekly online newspaper, www.bobcatpress.com, was judged against universities in the Website category  and received third place.

The Radionian currently has a staff of 20 students mostly majoring in broadcasting, journalism, communications, public relations, photography and graphic design, but good writers from any major are welcome to join the staff. For more information, contact advisor Kelly Atwood at Kelly.atwood@jcjc.edu.

Caption: The JCJC Radionian staff holds their 28 awards received at the Better Newspaper Contest which was held March 28. They are, left to right,  front row,  Sam Bass of Laurel, Kirstie Lowery of Ellisville, Chaning Green of Laurel, Erin Howell of Laurel, Acie Smith of Laurel, Nikki Smith of Richton, Zac Chamblee of Laurel; second row, Mykeyla Crawford of Ellisville, Brekae Robinson of Moselle, Katherine Parker of Ellisville, Katie Quinnelly of Laurel, Robyn Craft of Laurel, Heather Allen of Collins; Josh Beasley of Waynesboro, Brad Crowe of Waynesboro, Jay Riley of Hattiesburg, Trey Howard of Waynesboro, and Cheryl Stringer of Ellisville.

Powered by Frankly