USM sorority honors residents for outstanding work in the community

HATTIESBURG, MS (WDAM) - The Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Incorporated, Lambda Kappa Zeta Chapter, held their Finer Womanhood Ava Cobbins Scholarship Luncheon on Saturday at The University of Southern Mississippi's Trent Lott Center.

During the luncheon, the sorority honored six women and one organization for the outstanding work they do in the community.

Along with being honored, Jeanette Smith, Parkway Heights, Alethea Shaw-Milton, Verna Miller, Peggy Jean Connor, Dr. Sherita Johnson, and Jannie Green all received a blue crystal plaque.

This year Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. decided to tribute the scholarship luncheon to their soror, Ava Richardson Cobbins, who passed away in 2011. Just like the honorees, Ava also continuously gave selflessly to the improvement of the community.

Copyright 2013 WDAM. All rights reserved.