Henderson, Alwal honored as top players in state

AP Sports Writer

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - Mississippi's Marshall Henderson won the C Spire Howell Trophy on Monday afternoon at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame.

The award is given to the state's top men's college basketball player. Ole Miss forward Murphy Holloway and Southern Miss guard Dwayne Davis were the other two finalists.

Henderson leads the Southeastern Conference with 19.7 points per game this season. The 6-foot-2 junior has been 1 of the most polarizing players in college basketball this season, with his flamboyant personality and ability to put up points.

Mississippi State's Martha Alwal won the Gillom Trophy, which is given to the state's top women's basketball player. The other two finalists were Southern Mississippi guard Jamierra Faulkner and Ole Miss guard Valencia McFarland.

Alwal averaged 12.1 points and 9.7 rebounds per game this season.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.