Pine Belt counties declared eligible for Isaac damage aid

FORREST COUNTY, MS (WDAM) - Residents of 13 additional Mississippi counties affected by Hurricane Isaac have been declared eligible to apply for federal disaster assistance.

Forrest, Marion, George, Stone, Adams, Amite, Clarke, Hinds, Lincoln, Pike, Walthall, Warren and Wilkinson have been added to the initial list which included Hancock, Harrison, Jackson and Pearl River counties.

"I don't believe there is a minimum amount," said Forrest County Board of Supervisors President David Hogan. "From my understanding it's unlike insurance where you have a deductible and you have to meet a certain amount. So I would encourage anybody that has been affected in any way by Hurricane Isaac to contact FEMA and see if they're eligible for some relief," said Hogan.

A FEMA press release regarding the expanded declaration stated that residents may register for aid to cover several type of assistance including: temporary housing, home repairs, other serious disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other assistance programs, and low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration that may cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

FEMA will be setting up a temporary processing center for local Isaac claims in the Forrest County storm shelter adjacent to the Lynn Cartlidge Multi-Purpose Center off of Highway 49 North.

Applicants should register online at or by mobile device at If online or mobile access is unavailable, applicants should call the FEMA toll-free Helpline at
(800) 621-3362. Those who use 711-Relay or Video Relay Services should call (800) 621-3362. The toll-free numbers will operate from 7 a.m.-10 p.m. seven days a week until further notice.

People in the newly designated counties who have already registered for federal disaster assistance do not need to do so again. For more information about applications, call (800) 621-3362.