Jamie Collins Named to the 2012 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List

HATTIESBURG, Miss. – Southern Miss senior defensive lineman Jamie Collins added his second preseason watch list accolade today as he was named to the watch list for 2012 Bronko Nagursky Trophy, announced by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) and the Charlotte Touchdown Club on Thursday.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is awarded annually to the nation's best defensive player by the FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club. Every NCAA Division I Bowl Subdivision conference and independents BYU and Notre Dame are represented on the list that is led by 30 standout linebackers.

He also added the Bednarik Award watch list to his sheet of preseason accolades on Monday.

Collins, from McCall Creek, Miss., returns as the team's top tackler. In three seasons, Collins has posted 222 stops (127 solos) with 25.5 tackles for loss and 11 sacks, to go along with 10 pass breaks, four fumble recoveries, three forced fumbles, three interceptions and a blocked kick.

Two of his interceptions have been returned for touchdowns, including a 97-yard return last year at East Carolina and a 32-yard against the Pirates at home in 2010.

The Nagurski Trophy winner is chosen from five finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team as chosen by the FWAA All-America Committee. The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce the five finalists for the award on Nov. 15. The winner will be announced at the annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Awards Banquet on Dec. 3 in Charlotte.