Former Golden Eagle Brian Dozier Named Minnesota Twins Minor League Player of the Year

HATTIESBURG, MS (WDAM) - The Minnesota Twins announced today that infielder Brian Dozier has been named the 2011 Sherry Robertson Award winner as the organization's Minor League Player of the Year.

Dozier, 24, who played for the Golden Eagles from 2006-2009,began the 2011 season at Single-A Ft. Myers and batted .322 (58-for-180) with 11 doubles, five triples, two home runs, 22 RBI, 32 runs scored, 13 steals and 27 walks in 49 games with the Miracle. He was promoted to Double-A New Britain on June 6 and batted .318 (99-for-311) with 22 doubles, seven triples, seven home runs, 34 RBI, 60 runs scored, 11 steals and 28 walks in 78 games with the Rock Cats. He combined to bat .320 (157-for-492) with 33 doubles, 12 triples, nine home runs and 56 RBI in 127 games this season.

The 5-foot-11, 190-pounder was the Twins Minor League Player of the Month for May, batting .337 (33-for-98) with seven doubles, three triples and 11 RBI in 27 games with Ft. Myers. Dozier led all Twins minor leaguers in triples (12) and runs scored (92), was tied for first in stolen bases (24) and second in total bases (241). He was the Twins eighth round pick in the 2009 First-Year Player Draft.

The Sherry Robertson Award, named in honor of the Twins first farm director, was established in 1970 to recognize the Twins top minor league performer each season. Beginning in 2002, the award began recognizing the Twins Minor League Player of the Year while an additional award was created to recognize the Twins Minor League Pitcher of the Year. This award was named in honor of current Twins Minor League Director and Twins Hall of Famer, Jim Rantz. Past winners of the Sherry Robertson Award include Butch Wynegar (1974), Kent Hrbek (1981), Gene Larkin (1986), Paul Sorrento (1989), Denny Neagle (1990), Marty Cordova (1992), LaTroy Hawkins (1993 and '94), Todd Walker (1996), David Ortiz (1997), Doug Mientkiewicz (1998), Michael Restovich (1999), Michael Cuddyer (2001), Lew Ford (2002), Joe Mauer (2003), Jason Kubel (2004), Alexi Casilla (2006), Brian Buscher (2007) and Joe Benson (2010)..

Right-handed pitcher Liam Hendriks has been named the 2011 Jim Rantz Award winner as the Twins' Minor League Pitcher of the Year

Both Dozier and Hendriks, along with the Twins other 2011 award winners, will be recognized at the Seventh Annual Diamond Awards dinner, which will be held on Thursday, Jan.26, 2012, beginning at 5:30 p.m. at Target Field in Minneapolis, Minn.