JCJC Administrator is honored

ELLISVILLE, MS. (JONES COUNTY JUNIOR COLLEGE) -  Jones County Junior College's Vice President of Instructional Affairs, Jim Kelly was recently honored by Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society with an Administrator Award of Distinction.  He was presented this award at the honor society's annual convention in Orlando, Florida.

"The chapter at JCJC has a rich history of student success thanks to the dedicated faculty sponsors like Carol Bergin, Pat Holifield, Jim Read, Austin Smith, Sam Jones, and Julie Atwood,"  Kelly said, thanking those involved with the JCJC chapter of PTK for nominating him for this honor.  "I am truly honored that they and JCJC's 'New Century Scholar', Kraig Simpson nominated me for the 'Administrator Award of Distinction' for 2010."

The Administrator Award of Distinction was awarded to twenty-four college vice presidents, deans, or leaders other than college presidents or CEO's. This national award acknowledges Kelly's demonstration of strong support for PTK on the college campus.

"I have always supported Phi Theta Kappa because of the unique opportunities it provides for our students," said Kelly.  "Phi Theta Kappa is an international academic honors' society that highlights and promotes scholarship and service among two year college students. To fulfill this purpose, Phi Theta Kappa provides an outlet for leadership development, fellowship among student members, community service, and continuing academic excellence.  Students are awarded with thousands of dollars in transfer scholarships."

JCJC sponsor of PTK, Carol Bergin explained that she appreciates Kelly's support of every PTK function.  "It doesn't matter if it's our regular meeting or a big event Jim offers his assistance and pitches in wherever we need him," said Bergin.  "The students and all of our sponsors appreciate Mr. Kelly's contributions."

Copyright 2010 WDAM. All rights reserved.